'Battlefield 1' Winter Update: Servers Going Offline; Maintenance Schedule, New System Progression, Elite Codices, Class Ranks & More Massive Game Changes

14 February 2017, 8:10 pm EST By Keisuke Akio Mobile & Apps
Close

The "Battlefield 1" Winter Update has finally arrived and all the game servers are currently offline. The update brought massive changes to vehicles, weapons, ribbons, and character customization among others.

DICE has recently announced that game servers across PC, PS4, and Xbox One will be going offline on February 14 as part of the pre-Winter Patch maintenance. The downtime will last for one hour for every platform, during which, the "Battlefield 1" Winter Update is expected to roll out. Last night, the studio hosted a livestream disclosing massive changes coming with the patch.

Maintenance Schedule

The "Battlefield 1" Winter Update pre-patch maintenance will start on PC particularly for the multiplayer. It will be offline starting 8am GMT, 12am PT, 3am ET. For PS4, multiplayer will be offline starting 10am GMT, 2am PT, 5am ET. On the other hand, for Xbox One, multiplayer will be offline starting 12pm GMT, 4am PT, 7am ET.

Winter Update Changes

The latest "Battlefield 1" Winter Update brings new progression system in the game. Now, the game has ribbons. These ribbons will work just like in the past Battlefield games. You earn them automatically as you hit requirements, and can do so as many times as you like. There are 20 different ribbons that a player can collect with each worth 300 XP.

Aside from ribbons, the latest "Battlefield 1" Winter Update adds elite codices. Each is worth 25,000 XP and is unlocked for 500 kills with the matching weapon, starting as soon as the patch drops.

Eight primary weapons will be added to "Battlefield 1" with the Winter Update. However, more are expected with every major patch. The weapons that can be unlocked with the Elite Codex are M1897 Trench Gun, Automatico M1918, Selbstlader M1916, M1907 SL, Gewehr M.95, Madsen MG, SMLE MKIII and Benet Mercie.

With the "Battlefield 1" Winter Update, Class ranks increased from ten to 50. Interestingly, DICE players can now have class-specific dog tags and class rank icons for their kill cards. Bronze is unlocked at level 20, silver at 30, gold at 40 and platinum at 50. With this, you would be able to see immediately the level of experience a Battlefield 1 player that just killed you, says PVP Live.

© Copyright 2018 Mobile & Apps, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Join Our Conversation

Sign up for our Newsletter

Most Popular

Real Time Analytics