Facebook iOS & Android Photo Sync: How To Turn It On Or Off

3 December 2012, 8:53 am EST By Alexandra Burlacu Mobile&Apps

After three months of testing, Facebook is finally rolling out its Photo Sync feature to all of its users. Here's how you can use it.

First of all, the upgrade allows Facebook users to automatically sync photos taken on their phone or tablet to a private album on the social network. From that private album, users can choose their favorite pictures and share them on their Timeline.

Because the photos are private, they are saved in a secret section of Facebook, so synced photos are not immediately available for everyone to see. These photos are readily available only to their owner, who can choose to keep, delete, or share those pics via the Web on a PC, mobile phone, or other device.

Turn On Photo Sync

To access the new feature on a mobile phone or tablet, visit the left-side bar and scroll down to "Photos" under "Apps." A "Synced" button will become available at the bottom of the photo section (below right), next to the "Photos of You" and "Albums" buttons.

After tapping "sync," another screen will pop up for confirmation, prompting the user to get the photos in their camera to roll automatically to Facebook.

"Your photos stay private until you choose shots to share," reassures the message. Clicking to "Sync Photos" button at the bottom again will start the syncing.

To access the feature on a PC, users have to follow a similar process. Go to the Timeline, click "Photos." A "Synced from Phone" option will appear at the top, before Facebook starts giving step-by-step instructions. Once linked, the "Synced" option on mobile devices and "Synced from Phone" option on PCs bring users directly to their collection of private photos.

The social networking giant has been testing the new option since August, but now it is rolling out to all users. The photo sync feature allows Facebook users to sync up to 2GB of photos.

Turn Off Photo Sync

 

Users who do not want to push their phone photos onto Facebook can choose to turn off access. Android users can do so by scrolling to the bottom of the main menu to "Account," "App Settings," "Sync Photos," and "Don't Sync My Photos." iOS owners, meanwhile, can tap the same "Synced" button on their device, click on the gear icon and choose "Turn Off Photo Sync," then tap "Don't Sync My Photos."

As previously mentioned, the new photo sync feature is just now rolling out to all of Facebook's one billion users, so it may take a while to get it. The Facebook for Android app is currently available for free in the Google Play store, as it the Facebook for iOS app in the Apple iTunes Store.

© 2016 Mobile & Apps, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Join Our Conversation

Sign up for our Newsletter

Real Time Analytics